We Say We Hate Change

We don’t have an assigned seating chart in my English class. We have the freedom to sit in whatever desk, beside whatever people we like… yet we have sat in the same seats since about the third day of class. Literally no one has moved. It’s the same way in my history class, and no matter how much I say I don’t like having a seating chart, I hate changing seating charts a thousand times more. I get used to my view of the room and the people sitting around me. Once I begin to find comfort in that and consistency in going to the same place every time I walk in the door, I don’t want to move. It throws everything off.

I don’t want to leave my family and friends when I graduate… but I want to go to school and have my own life. As people, we’re constantly torn between the comfort of the things we know and the possibilities of the things we don’t. I don’t think I’ve ever met a single person who says he or she loves change.

We say we hate change, but we have to remember that all change is part of God’s divine plan. Change can be so incredible- new babies, getting married, promotions. I find my hope in things that either have or will come from change. When Christ came to Earth, it changed everything. There’s a passage in Exodus that talks about how you should give a life for a life, an an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, etc. Then in Matthew, Jesus says, “You have heard that it was said, ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.’ But I say to you, do not resist an evildoer. But if anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other also.” The old law of revenge was replaced with one of love and tolerance. John 8 tells the story of an adulterous woman who, according to the law of Moses, should have been stoned to death. Jesus tells the Pharisees that any of them without sin should be the first to throw a stone at her. Of course, they have all sinned, and Jesus is left alone with the woman. He chooses forgiveness & love and does not condemn her. It is acts such as these that changed everything.

Because of Christ, we know the God of love rather than the God of wrath. I don’t know about you, but I’m so thankful for the occurrence of that change. As people, we have to change in order to grow in faith, hope, and love.  Every act of love we participate in is also an act of change. It’s a change from our sinful nature to the loving nature of Christ. And I think that change is really beautiful.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a comment