Good Kids, Bad Things

“Shannon, do you think I’m a bad kid?”

I didn’t even know what to do when a friend of mine asked the question. Of course he isn’t a bad kid! He’s one of the nicest kids I know. Sure, he goes to parties, drinks on occasion, and has smoked weed a few times. But I don’t think doing those things makes him a bad person. I tell my friends all the time, “Don’t do bad things,” especially before the weekend. There’s one friend who gets the speech quite a bit, and he always has a sarcastic remark about how he “doesn’t know what I’m talking about because he doesn’t do bad things” or how I “should be the one not doing bad things.” And in typical Christian girl fashion, I’m always quick to respond, “I do NOT do bad things.”

There’s a boy that I talk to every day in homeroom for fifteen minutes. We talk about grades and football but also personal stuff that he goes through. More than once he’s told me that he feels like a bad person, and I always disagree. Once the conversation went in a direction that resulted in him basically saying “I’m a bad person because I do bad things; you’re a good person because you don’t.” It’s so sad that he thinks that way because it’s not true.

The first part of 1 Timothy 4:4 says, “Everything created by God is good…” I believe that we were all created by our Heavenly Father, so I have to believe that we’re all good kids. Somewhere deep inside each and every one of us, there is goodness because God put it there when He created us in His image.

Romans 3:23 says, “Since all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” That basically says we all do bad things. I couldn’t have been more wrong when I claimed that I don’t do bad things, and the boy in homeroom was terribly mistaken by thinking that I don’t do them. Because I do. I’ll have to apologize to my friend for the mini-lectures on not doing bad things. I need the lectures just as much, if not more, than he does.

We’re all good kids who do bad things. No matter how hard I try, I’m going to fall short and do bad things, but it’s okay because I have an incredible God who created me to be good and loves me no matter what. We’re all sinners in need of grace, but the most beautiful thing in the entire world is that Jesus came to Earth and died so that the bad things we do no longer have to overshadow the good we’re created to be. And that’s pretty amazing.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

