“Y’all are Friends”

Thursday night, we had a C-Team game and a JV game at West Side. One of our players got taken out of the game for a penalty caused by fighting during the C-Team game, and two of our players almost got into a fight on the sideline during the JV game.

Some Things Are More Important

After the player got taken out of the C-Team game, there were quite a few guys around me who were of the opinion that he should not have been taken out. After all, it’s football and players get into fights; it happens all the time. I understand where they’re coming from: football is an aggressive, contact-based sport. But that doesn’t make fighting okay. I think that sometimes we tend to have the misconception that fighting in a physical manner is just standing up for ourselves or showing how strong we are or proving something to others. I also think that a lot of the time, football becomes the most important thing. If you’re needed to win a game, it doesn’t matter what you do. You’re going to play in that game. But tonight, some things were more important than football. I know all the players don’t understand that, and that’s perfectly fine. I just hope that someday they’re all able to see that winning a football game isn’t the most important thing there is in life.

“Y’all Are Friends”

During the JV game, I was standing on the sideline with a rack of water bottles watching the game when the player standing to my right got into an argument with a player about six people to my left. The argument escalated and righty kept getting closer to me. I wasn’t too worried about it-people have disagreements all the time-until lefty started walking toward me and righty was almost up against me. Within seconds, a friend of mine stepped in between righty and I, pushed him back, and said “Stop. Y’all are friends.” So often we find ourselves in pointless arguments with people and wind up saying/doing things we regret. I feel like sometimes we just need to remember that we’re friends, and we can disagree while being respectful and loving the other person.

 

In the middle of so much fighting, there was so much good occurring as well, and I am so thankful. I’m thankful I work with a football team where the coaches put character before football. I’m thankful I have friends who are willing to break up fights rather than participate in them. I’m thankful I go to a school where the players pray and their moms make sure we’re all fed. For the first time in a long time, I’m thankful for where I am.

I’m the girl that can’t wait for high school to end so that I can go to college, move somewhere big, and have this grand life, impacting millions of people. But Mother Teresa said, “Never worry about numbers. Help one person at a time and always start with the person nearest you.” So for now, I’ve decided to be content with where I am. There’s no use in fighting it. Besides, there is so much good here. I’m not saying I plan on staying forever, but I’m happy with staying for now. Y’all are friends, and I am ridiculously grateful for that. I don’t need to be anywhere else in order to help people. There are individuals here that I come into contact with all the time; they need love just as much as people in other places. Later on, I might go to California, London, South America, or even somewhere in Africa. But until then, I’m going to focus on the girl who dropped her books in the hallway. I’m going to worry about helping the football player who just got hurt and the boy in homeroom who feels like no one cares about him. I’m going to break up fights. Probably not physical fights the way my friend did, but the fighting people have going on inside of themselves. And I know I won’t be able to stop all the battles people are fighting. I just hope that somehow I can make it a little bit easier for everyone to fight them.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

