Innkeepers

There’s always so much to do. School, practice, clubs, homework, eating, sleep, friends, family. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has as many things as possible packed into any given day. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that… as long as we take the time to fit God in there somewhere. I know I didn’t spend nearly enough time alone with God on Thursday, and I justified that by telling myself “It’s okay. You were really busy today.”

This afternoon, I was doing homework on my bed-my bed that is completely covered in binders, textbooks, pens, pencils, and folders- when I looked up and saw my Bible amongst the chaos of school supplies. I stopped and found myself considering how much time I actually spent with God this week. Again, the “too busy” thought entered my head, and I felt guilty because God has never, not once, been too busy for me.

I don’t know how I made the connection, but I also started thinking about the innkeeper. The innkeeper whose name is never even mentioned. I thought about how much work it must have been to run an inn, especially an inn that was full. I cannot even imagine how busy he must have been. And yet he found room for Jesus. In spite of everything he must have had going on, he made sure Mary and Joseph had somewhere to stay, even if it was just a stable. 

All of us are innkeepers. Every day, we decide whether or not we’re going to make room for Jesus. Even if what we have to offer seems as inadequate as a stable, I hope we can be like the innkeeper and give what we can to the Lord. I pray we always have room for God, no matter how full our lives are.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

