#thanksDad

Image

A while back, my older brother started concluding every statement with a hashtag. “Made an A on a test I didn’t study for. Hashtag winning.” “Won the game. Hashtag go green roll wave.” So naturally, my father picked up the habit… He doesn’t hashtag out loud as much anymore, but there’s something he always finds the need to point out in typical teenager fashion. Any time I mention something that was only made possible by him, I get a “hashtag thanks Dad!”

“Look at this dress I got today.”
“Hashtag thanks Dad!”

“Stanford was so much fun.”
“Hashtag thanks Dad!”

You get the idea. Basically, my whole existence is one giant “Hashtag thanks Dad!” It’s a not so subtle way of getting credit where it’s due…and where I probably wouldn’t have given it. It dawned on me recently that the concept doesn’t just apply to my father. It applies to our Heavenly Father as well. Not only do I forget to give my dad credit, but I forget to give God credit.

I’ve been blessed. So unbelievably blessed. Anything and everything I have, I only have because God the Father gave it to me. But it’s easy to forget,  easy to skip right over the “thank you.” I know I’ve done it way too much. So here it is. Hashtag thanks, Dad. For everything.

I think I have a tendency to lean towards sinful pride
I readily take credit and simply let You hide
Too often I assume that good things come from me
When really it’s You inside my heart, shining for others to see

You’re my creator and the maker of all things good
And through the tests of time and Satan You’ve withstood
I’ve done nothing to deserve the things You’ve given me
I seem so irrelevant next to others or standing by the sea
With all that You’ve given me, it’s the least I can do
I step humbly aside and give it all to You

I like to blame outside sources when I do something wrong
But when I do something right, I’m quick to play along
I like the idea of perfect at everything all the time
Then I realize You’ve never messed up, never committed the smallest crime

You’re my creator and the maker of all things good
And through the tests of time and Satan You’ve withstood
I’ve done nothing to deserve the things You’ve given me
I seem so irrelevant next to others or standing by the sea
With all that You’ve given me, it’s the least I can do
I step humbly aside and give it all to You

With all of these gifts I have been blessed
And in peace my soul will rest
Lord, in me, replace the pride
And instead humility provide

You’re my creator and the maker of all things good
And through the tests of time and Satan You’ve withstood
I’ve done nothing to deserve the things You’ve given me
I seem so irrelevant next to others or standing by the sea
With all that You’ve given me, it’s the least I can do
I step humbly aside and give it all to You

With all the talents I have, all the blessings I’ve been given
I apologize and hope that I will be forgiven
Everything I have comes from You
So the glory I give should be Yours too

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanda says:

    You are an amazing young woman of God! Love you Shan!

    1. shannonduke2 says:

      Thank you so much! I love you more!

  2. Carlton Spence says:

    #ThanksShannon #Well done mom and dad!

Leave a Reply

