Saying Yes

“I have this theory that if one person can go out of their way to show compassion, it will start a chain reaction of the same. People will never know how far a little kindness can go.”  -Rachel Scott

Last year, I did a research project on Rachel Joy Scott. She was one of the thirteen victims of the Columbine High School shootings in 1999. Before she died, Rachel was asked, “Do you believe in God?”

Her response was, “You know I do.”

To which her shooter responded, “Then go be with Him.”

Her journals that were found after her death reveal her deep relationship with the Lord and her desire to “reach the unreached.” Her faith and dedication still blow my mind. Throughout her life, God put her in situations where she didn’t ask ‘why?’ or say ‘no.’ She simply had the attitude of a servant and said ‘yes.’ I encourage you to read Rachel’s Tears or read parts of her story-it’s all so incredible.

Rachel said ‘yes’ on April 20, 1999, but she said ‘yes’ to God day after day, month after month before she said her final ‘yes.’ She trusted Him and let Him lead her life, always answering His call faithfully. The one question I continue to ask myself is, “Would I have said ‘yes’?” I thought and prayed about my answer, but I couldn’t seem to find one. I’ve decided that it’s difficult to know how I’ll react in a life or death situation, but as we go back to school, I pray that I have the faith to be like Rachel and say ‘yes.’ I hope, with all of my heart, that I have the courage to say ‘yes’ every day.

“I don’t have to say anything…They just see You in me.” -Rachel

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

