Sinners Like Me

For God so loved me, He gave His only son
He faced the consequences, but I’m the guilty one
I doubt like Thomas and deny like Peter
Like Eve, I disobey for what I think might be sweeter
I seek happiness from worldly things unknown
But my soul finds rest in Him alone

He has overcome the world, in this I take heart
He’s shown mercy and forgiveness from the start
Though I constantly question and tend to doubt
He’ll never leave me down and out.
There’s nothing I did, and nothing I could ever do
To deserve the grace that He saves me through
He took up the cross that day on Calvary
And gave His life for sinners like me

I try to serve Christ but fail and choose sin.
Some days good loses the battles I fight within
I run like Jonah, like Martha I worry about everything
Impatient like Sarah, I don’t like to wait for the blessings you’ll bring
But His power is made perfect in my weakness
He is the light that shines out of the bleakness

He has overcome the world, in this I take heart
He’s shown mercy and forgiveness from the start
Though I constantly question and tend to doubt
He’ll never leave me down and out.
There’s nothing I did, and nothing I could ever do
To deserve the grace that He saves me through
He took up the cross that day on Calvary
And gave His life for sinners like me

When I’m broken, He’s the only one who will take me
He will never leave me or forsake me

He has overcome the world, in this I take heart
He’s shown mercy and forgiveness from the start
Though I constantly question and tend to doubt
He’ll never leave me down and out.
There’s nothing I did, and nothing I could ever do
To deserve the grace that He saves me through
He took up the cross that day on Calvary
And gave his life for sinners like me

He is the good shepherd, who lays down His life for the sheep
He mercifully gave up His life for me

We have all sinned and fallen short of the glory of God, but He loves us anyway. He gave up His life to save a bunch of sinners. Sinners like me.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,
Shannon

Leave a Reply

