Keep Still

Unable to sleep, late one evening I was flipping through my Bible when I stumbled upon an Old Testament verse that at some point had been underlined and marked with a red flag. Not only that, I, in all my infinite wisdom, had written the word “wow” next to the verse.

Exodus 14:14 The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to keep still. Wow.

The first time I read it, I became completely enamored with the first half of the verse, finding comfort in the fact that the Lord of all creation was taking the time to fight for me. When I looked more closely, however, the second half was what couldn’t leave my mind.

Keep still.

But what does that mean, keep still? If I keep still, how am I supposed to go out and feed God’s sheep? Doesn’t keeping still prevent me from doing everything I’m called to do as a Christian?

Eventually, it dawned on me that I was misinterpreting the verse the whole time. Yes, we have to keep still. We have to stop trying to fix everything our way. We get so caught up in our own problems and trying to come up with quickest, most efficient solution that we forget to stop, breathe, be still, and listen for God’s solution. He’s fighting for us; we just have to be willing to find time to listen. It doesn’t do any good if we take no break from the chaos and pursue the solution we came up with while tuned in to the world. It doesn’t matter that He’s fighting for you unless you take the time to tune in to Him. Unless you take the time to keep still.

I also realized that the verse isn’t saying we should ignore the rest of the world in our new found state of stillness. It’s saying, the Lord will fight for you, and you have only to keep still. So take your time that isn’t spent keeping still, and fight for someone else. The Lord has you completely covered just in those few moments of stillness, so don’t worry about yourself. Go out into the world and fight the good fight. Fight for those in need.

Remember, God’s fighting for you; you just have to keep still and let Him. And with the Lord fighting for you, you have the ability to fight for those around you.

1 Corinthians 16:23-24,

Shannon

Leave a Reply

